Perspective

You know how you help a stranger out of courtesy because you have good manners but they don’t appreciate your input and instead assume you’re a know-it-all?

Yeah. I didn’t either.

I put in a disclaimer too as I usually do by clarifying that this is solely my opinion based on my personal experiences and you are by all means entitled to your choices as you see fit.

But, the person decided to make a snap judgement of my personality based on what they chose to focus on. Instead of understanding my point of view from a logical/practical standpoint, they decided to write off my opinion based on an emotional misjudgment of my personality.

What I’m trying to get at is, even when you have the most sincere intentions at heart – the other person might completely miss it.

Because people see what they want to see.

And that can be really frustrating because who likes being misunderstood?

And then I realized something: What you see in others’ is a reflection of yourself.

Have you ever noticed that there are some people who are in a perpetual state of complaints? Who are dissatisfied by possibly every encounter they ever have with anyone – who doubtless find a fault in everything? Even if they find a good in something, they’ll immediately follow it up with something bad just to balance out the equation, because they probably can’t stomach it. They don’t even realize they’re doing it because it’s so ingrained in their DNA. And obviously, nobody purposely behaves negatively. But the point is – they do. Their toxic behavior is suffocating, to say the least.

This was an encounter with a stranger, but I have personal relationships with people who sometimes react in a completely absurd manner – even when you try your best to show them your perspective. That’s when you realize that it’s their own narrow minded view of the world that’s making them behave in this way.

We can’t control others’ perceptions beyond a certain degree. It’s important to remember that when someone is being rude, bitter, or just completely misunderstanding your actions and intentions repeatedly – then there’s something wrong with them. What they see in you is a reflection of themselves. 

By the same token, it’s important to be mindful of my own actions and observe how is it that I’m behaving with others’. If I wish to be given the benefit of the doubt, I must give the other person the same benefit as well. I should be able to show my perspective and be ready to change it should the other person’s perspective be more accurate. Treat others’ the way I’d like to be treated.

There are some people who notice the good in you, even when you can’t see it in yourself. You may think someone is overestimating your capabilities whilst you’re constantly underestimating yourself (to the point of self sabotage). Hold on to these people. They see you for what you could be. And that’s because their perspective shows the beauty within their own hearts.

Interpretative-ly yours,
– N

 

2 thoughts on “Perspective

  1. You got it! There are a few people in my life who are always negative. After a lifetime of trying to figure out why, I realized that it was never about me, but rather a reflection of how they view their own life. I try not to pity people, but I’ve come to see that people who are in a good place never make disparaging comments. There is no limit to the attainment of happiness. Okay, I’m going on a tangent here, but I also agree with your last statement. Surround yourself with people who bring you up. Naureen, are you thinking of being a counselor? Because you’re pretty good at it! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Naureen, you seem very genuine. I get a good vibe from your writing. I’m not sure if you do this kind of thing, but I went ahead and nominated you for the Sunshine Blogger Award. I just hope that the world comes to appreciate the unique perspective that you have on life.

    Like

Leave a Reply

