Greetings, my favourite earthling(s)

For a long time, I debated on how best to start this post. I couldn’t precisely think what to post out of the blue. It’s more prudent to begin this way – and I also owe it to my loyal readers (and new ones! Hi & thank you, dil se). I was on an unplanned hiatus longer than expected, getting more comfortable with journaling – which is not something I have previously committed to the way I am now. Ironically, the idea that propelled my foray into scribble therapy, was the fact that to continue my writing – I must practise it every day. Whatever it may be, the more I write, the more it will help with my expression. The only downside to this is that I haven’t been able to find a reason to blog publically as opposed to journaling for myself. I don’t blog under an alias – nor have I ever wanted to, but the personal freedom that I get in an uninhibited space is a high that I keep going back to. It’s a place that has no assumptions, judgements or criticisms. There’s only compassion and acceptance. I’ve only ever received support on my platform, and for that I’m ever-grateful, but what you read is usually filtered. It is when I have reached a conclusion, or when I discovered the silver lining to my story. The perfectionist in me is not comfortable with an open ended post – an unresolved dilemma. – and hence I just kept finding it easier to go back to a space where even my jumbled thoughts would find a place to be heard and accepted as is. (The lack of finesse in this post probably gives you an idea).

But. Well. I missed blogging. I’ve never explicitly said why I started this, but my blog was born out of a difficult circumstance in my life. This was my creative outlet and I held on to it. Continuing this is also a reminder to myself of the patience that took me through that, as well as the hard work it takes to see a commitment through.

With this, I’m going to try my best to post regularly – and hopefully with something of a bigger takeaway than this scattered explanation of my absence.

A big internet hug to you, dear reader, for reaching this line – because it’s always nice to know of those who will stay by you until the end.
Apologetically yours,
– N

Save

5 thoughts on “Greetings, my favourite earthling(s)

  1. Yay! My little sis Naureen is back! I’ve missed you so much, but I’m glad to know your reasons for being MIA were good ones. I love journaling as well. It’s the place where I can complain, boast, and worry without feeling like I am offending or hurting anyone. I totally get what you mean. But the showwoman in me also needs to write things that are accessible to others. I think public blog also also hones my writing skills. I hope, anyway. But I digress. I am glad you are back – please don’t ever leave again! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awh I missed this, and you! ❤ ❤ This is kind of in line with what you just posted, like – how do you ever post anything without seeming "boastful"? Blogging is honestly a good way to learn copywriting (*cough* is a recruiter reading this?) – since you try to put forth your thoughts on difficult situations in a neutralised manner.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It totally is! When your writing is up for public consumption, your forced to revisit your words and sentences. I actually find this challenge, though frustrating at times, makes me a better writer. Nuance! It’s like the buzzword of the day – but it’s very important when you’re writing about your life. You never want to speak on behalf of anyone else.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Ahh I can relate to this! Lately I have been tempted to journal instead of blog, there are some things that need to be written just for your own sake and not for everyone’s eyes. The temptation to continue journalling is so huge – maybe with time we may learn to strike a balance between the two forms :). Anyway welcome back and lots of hugs back to you 🙂 xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Right?! & Then you’re like – why would anyone want to know this? The lines are blurred sometimes. Balance is honestly the hardest thing on this planet – with anything. I’ll try harder, though 🙂 Thank you so much! x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

