The Friday Post #9

Disclaimer: I realise its a Saturday. Don’t point out the obvious, we all make mistakes.

HELLO, Friday. It’s been a while.

Although the original purpose of this series’ was something else in my mind, I realise that it progresses and shifts as though it has a mind of its own. And I’m okay with surprising myself (and you, dear reader). I feel like this is a free, fun space, but at the same time, is also a place to collect life’s seemingly inconsequential moments that I would otherwise not recall. But that’s the beauty of blogging. You always have a record.

This month brought with it a tumultuous change in my life, one that had absolutely no logical way of occurring had it not been for the mysterious ways that God’s plans work. Things are as good as they are bad, and after the initial stage of being in a state of turmoil and potential despair at the outcome, I realised that maybe I was being taught how to let go. I was being taught to submit. I was being taught how to say a prayer and let go of any emotional attachment to its answer. Obsessing over my desired outcome is impractical because I have a limited control over life’s circumstances. But I can discipline my emotions – I have to allow the wave to pass through, without drowning in it.

I’m also learning that sometimes it takes us the answer of our prayers itself to realise that we’re lacking something fundamental in our own lives. To put it in a simple analogy, it’s like wishing you’d be one of the wealthiest people in the world – actually achieving that title – and then realising that the trade-off to getting there had been lesser time for your family – and most importantly, yourself. (A bit of a dramatic juxtaposition, but you get the point, oui?)

I had a sit down with myself and thought of some things I was grateful for this week:

– A conversation with someone whom I cant classify as either a friend or an acquaintance, but whom I’ve known a while. You know the good kind of people in life? You’re not close, but you’ll always have their best interests at heart, simply because of the kind human being they are.

– Being published at The Tempest. I don’t know a better platform for the kind of article I wrote. It was something close to my heart, and a difficult one to word appropriately. You can read it here. I’d love to know your thoughts.

– I am blown away at how therapeutic journalling can be. I’ve started understanding how my handwriting alters depending on my mood.

– Realising in full capacity how Allah (swt) takes care of your affairs.

Thank you for joining me on recounting some of the little things in life.
Hope you have/had a brilliant weekend.

Save

9 thoughts on “The Friday Post #9

  1. Naureen, each time I read one of your blog posts, I’m left in awe of your wisdom and insight and I’m so glad to consider you an adopted sister (it’s been done, you can’t unadopt me now! 😉 I love that through your ambiguity, I am forced to reflect on how your understandings can apply to my own life. Whether it was intentional or not, I still must thank you! BTW, you deserve all the shares and reads your article on The Tempest is getting! Let it serve as an inspiration for you to continue to share your unique voice and perspective with the world !

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much!!! Your words always warm my heart. I would never even consider it – I am CERTAIN we are related in a parallel universe. Trust me when I say your support, and your reflections on life bring just as much optimism to mine. Truly – Alhumdulillah for having met you. 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Alhamdulillah!!! It’s amazing, the internet has been the vehicle for such enriching blessings! Both you and I can attest. Thus reminds of something Dr. Umar said, about people being created from the same ruh. That’s why with certain people, the connection is instantaneous. But with others, even if you’ve known them your entire life, nothing. Like talking to a wall. SubhanAllah! You inspire me in so many ways, Naureen! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. So glad I’ve stumbled upon your wonderful blog Naureen. I’ve read your article published in the Tempest. I was so incensed when I read about that incident where grown men were acting like demented little chihuahuas, because that’s the only images that comes to my mind whenever I see/hear of men catcalling women. Even though the hijab is meant to protect believing women from the gaze of men, it is also incumbent on men to not go leering at women, or staring at them like they have two heads or a third eye. What we have today are mostly Muslim societies but not Islamic societies. The first one refers to a society where a majority of the people self-identify as Muslim, while the second one implies a society built in accordance to the precept of the Qur’an and the Sunnah, and where the citizenry not only abides by such precepts but also embodies them in their behaviours. Although both our Muslim present societies, and that of the Prophet’s (SAW) time are in essence Muslim societies, the differences are staggering between the two. I can’t help but notice that what is, unfortunately, to obvious about our present Muslim societies is our deficit in Islam. Thank yo again for your insightful, and candid writing. I’ll be making lots of duas for you dear sister.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! Your feedback & Duas mean so much to me. You’re absolutely right. I don’t honestly believe there are any Islamic societies in this world anymore, when even such things happen in supposedly Islamic countries. The time of the Prophet Muhammad (saw) seems so other worldly to me. I got feedback from a woman and her friends in Saudi Arabia who supposedly have much worse experiences than what I put across. It made me shudder to think of that, in such a place.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I definitely love each of your posts ❤ and so proud to know you personally.
    Your words are so powerful & impactful on me and I specifically love all your posts related to Hijab – Super relatable.

    Much Love, Rahma

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

