Lemon Cake Squares

My sister and I are the only ones who bake at home, in case you ever wonder why she creeps into these stories from time to time. This recipe belongs to her. It’s very easy to prepare and one of the most delicious things I’ve ever had. It’s the perfect tea time snack. I was downright skeptical about this because I hate lemon in anything. I don’t even add it to my nihari, you guys. Hand on heart – I have now converted.

The only downside is, you can easily have too much in one sitting and not realise it. It’s extremely light, fluffy and moist. I baked a Coffee and Walnut Cake for my sister’s birthday, and we’d told ourselves we won’t bake cakes in the time period between hers and my brother’s birthday (5 weeks). We broke that rule within a few days by baking the sponge cake that I showed you guys here, and then a few days after, I find my sister quietly whipping up the batter in the kitchen and asking me to taste test if the lemon was just right. She knew I’d have reprimanded her for her audacity but I couldn’t do anything now that the batter was already made. But, I’m so glad she did because the cake exceeded ALL my expectations.

IMG_3763.JPG

Incase you’re still frowning at the word lemon (like how I would), let me tell you – it’s just right. It is subtle but you can’t miss it. It really adds to the flavour. The lemon buttercream makes it all come together.


Lemon Cake Squares

Notes:

1. I used a 9×9 square pan. This made 12 squares for me. It was consumed by 4 people and finished the next day. It’s not a big recipe, so you can double it if you want more.

2. Let the cake cool completely after you take it out of the oven before icing it – at least one hour. This is so that the icing doesn’t melt on the cake.

2. The completed cake is best served cold. Let it sit in the fridge for a minimum of 2 hours before serving. That is when you will really appreciate the beauty of the cake. It tasted even better the next day.

Ingredients (for the cake)

  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup caster sugar
  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tbsp milk
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1/2 tsp lemon zest
  • Pinch of salt

Method

1. Grease your pan, cover it with baking paper and set aside. Preheat your oven to 190°  C / 375° F

2. In a large bowl, sift the flour and baking powder.

3. Add in everything else: butter, sugar, milk, lemon juice and lemon zest.

4. Using an electric mixer, mix everything until its well combined. (The batter will be thick, don’t worry about it. There shouldn’t be any lumps, if you fear those, you can just add the dry ingredients separately in increments. The end result should be a thick and smooth batter)

5. Pour the batter into your greased pan and let it bake for 20-25 minutes, depending on your oven. (Mine was done in 22 minutes. Insert a toothpick in the middle to check if its done – it should come out clean. The edges will be golden brown once done)

Ingredients (for the icing)

  • 1/3 cup butter
  • 1 cup icing sugar
  • 1 and 1/2 tsp lemon juice
  • 2 finger kitkat for garnishing (or anything of your choice. Kitkat just added a nice texture and looked pretty).

Method

1. In a large bowl, add butter and beat using an electric mixer until it is light and fluffy, about 3-4 minutes.

2. Sift the icing sugar in 2 increments. Mix everything well.

3. Add the lemon juice. Mix everything until well combined. (Taste it at this point. You can add more lemon depending on preference) Your icing is ready.

4. Keep the icing in the fridge. Once the cake is cooled, cover the whole cake with the icing evenly. Crush the kitkat and sprinkle over it. Cut the cake into squares and serve!

I hope you enjoy having this as much as I did! It was a massive departure from the traditional at my place, and it’s amazing what a bit of lemon can do for your palate.

Until next time! Happy baking 🙂

IMG_3746.JPG

 

Save

Save

8 thoughts on “Lemon Cake Squares

  1. Can you adopt me as your sister, Naureen??? A) Because I’m the only one here that likes to bake… and eat baked goods as much I do B) Like you, I also don’t like lemon-flavoured desserts. You were literally speaking to me throughout this post. Hey, if I can give mint a try, why not lemon? Thanks for sharing!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahaha oh I definitely think we are, in a parallel universe! TRY IT! I also detest mint – I tried the ever popular After Eight chocolates (unsure if you know this brand) and I really disliked the aftertaste. It was like having gum. Psh. Unfortunately I don’t know any place that sells mint cakes here but we are SO going to The Cake Bake Shop (or was it Stop?) if I come there.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh yes, I know After Eight (they have it in Canada, not the U.S. though). My siblings love it! Yes, you are coming to The Cake Bake Shop when you come to Indy! Write it down as a goal!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I have been wanting to come to this space each time I see your Insta post! 😛 Finally made it. Lemony, orangey flavoured cakes are acquired taste. I too have been wanting to prepare something with lemon (coz I have hoarded a lot don’t know what I was thinking when I picked a bag full lol!) Pinned this recipe because it seems so simple and easy. Reading tis post, I really miss my sister! We used to have kitchen fun during school days! let me call her right away..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awh that’s sweet, thank you Fahmida! 🙂 I look forward to see what you prepare with all those lemons, hehe! Glad this inspired you to connect with your sister xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

