The Friday Post #8 – Nutella Sponge Cake

With all the sweetness enveloping our three-day Eid celebration just last week, I assumed I’d hit the pause button, because there was already a plan in place to bake something for my sister’s birthday which falls on Sunday. However, I was fasting one particularly difficult day (Is it normal to get splitting headaches when you fast out of the blue? Because its normal for me unfortunately), and I don’t know about you, but thinking about what I’ll prepare for iftar gets me through the day. With that in mind, I set about to bake a Nutella Sponge Cake and Alhumdulillah, it was a massive hit! I can never look at store-bought cakes the same way anymore. I was never a fan of plain sponge cakes/pound cakes and the likes, but I think what made this so delectable was a) it was fresh and very light and b) there’s a huge satisfaction in having home-made goods, in my opinion.

IMG_3407.JPG

I’m completely new at this whole baking thing and I’m loving every minute of it. I thought I’d share the recipe below – it’s your standard, basic recipe for even the most novice baker out there. You can add in your own personal twists to it, or subtract the Nutella if you just want the cake as is. My sister wanted to add a thin layer of vanilla frosting but she was busy binge-watching The Walking Dead *eye roll*. But that’s the beauty of this cake. It doesn’t need any frosting to make it taste better.

I have added some of my own notes in brackets with each step, just so it’s as clear as possible, keeping beginners in mind. It’s super simple, moist, doesn’t take long at all and smells. so. good. My brother is very stingy with his compliments, (as is my dad, is this a man thing?) and if he loved it, so will you, I promise.

Nutella Sponge Cake

Ingredients:

  • 1 and 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 3/4th tsp baking powder
  • 1 and 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup melted butter
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 4-5 tbsp Nutella (can be altered depending on your preference)
  • 1 tbsp rose water
  • 1 tbsp vanilla essence

Method:

1. Preheat the oven at 190° C (375° F). Line a baking tray with paper and grease it lightly, including the sides. Set aside.

2. Mix the butter, sugar, eggs, rose water, vanilla essence and milk until well combined. (I used the electric mixer towards the end for 10-15 seconds so it’s all mixed in well)

3. Add the flour mixture in 3-4 increments. Using an electric mixer, beat it on medium speed until the entire mixture is incorporated into the batter. Beat thoroughly and stop when it’s well combined (Don’t over beat otherwise it can result in a dry cake)

4. Heat the Nutella in the microwave twice in 10 second increments, or as per your preference. This will allow it to thin and spread evenly. (I actually didn’t do this. My Nutella was already at room temperature, and I added it as is. Since it’s thick, after it was done baking, the Nutella that settled at the bottom became sort of crisp and it was amazing. Apart from that it was normal chocolate)

5. Pour the mixture into your baking tray, and add the Nutella on top. Swirl it lightly with a butter knife. (I added one tbsp on different sides of the tray so there’d be some Nutella everywhere. This is dependent upon your personal preference)

6. Bake for 30-35 minutes. (Check it at 30 minutes if it’s done. If it isn’t, it needs 5 minutes more, depending on your oven. Mine was done by 35 minutes. To be sure, insert a toothpick in the middle and it should come out clean. I used a blunt knife because I didn’t have a toothpick)

7. Allow it to cool and have it with some tea/coffee and you’re good to go! Don’t forget to share it so you spread the love and calories.

IMG_3408.JPG

 

5 thoughts on “The Friday Post #8 – Nutella Sponge Cake

  1. Oooh, this is such a brilliant idea! Turning an otherwise boring cake (they exist, sadly) into a beauty like this. I love Nutella! You could have even added more on top and make that your frosting! Or is that too much? My chocolate love knows no bounds! I’ve baked enough sweets for a while, but I think I want to try this the next time the baking bug hits me! I’m going to try it with whole wheat, honey, and peanut butter. It’ll probably no longer be a sponge cake anymore, but it’s not a good idea having Nutella so close in range to me. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Naureen! I feel like we’re hitting similar milestones at the same time. I’ve finally been able to bake and as I assumed I would, I LOVE it. The only problem is no one around me seems to have a sweet tooth like I do 😦

    Like

    1. I always think I’ve had enough baked goods, and then I find myself thinking of newer ways to induce sugar into my life. SIGH. Your recipe sounds so healthy! My life-long ambition is to healthify desserts but keep them at the same taste. No one at home likes honey or peanut butter. 😦 Gosh, AREN’T WE? I just realised! 😀 Can’t wait for more from Rafia’s Kitchen! ❤

      Like

      1. You’re right! I’m never not in the mood for some baked goods 😉 No honey or peanut butter? Those two things are some of my favouritest! I love honey like Winnie The Pooh and I add PB into pretty much everything I can. It just adds so much flavour. And even just randomly taking a spoonful is just… mmm, good. I feel sorry for people with nut allergies. They’ll never know the wonders of peanut butter. Thanks, Naureen! I’m loving cooking and baking. It’s fun and satisfying when a dish turns out.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

