The Friday Post #6

Hello! *insert a jump, skip, an enthusiastic wave and a big grin* This is typically how I greet people after spotting them from a distance. I’ve missed writing these posts! I hope everyone’s doing well and that your Ramadan prep is going strong.

Today I wanted to share with you 5 things that made my week stand out:

1. “Dear Book Nerd” – I’ve recently taken the plunge into the world of podcasts! Contrary to popular misconception, I’m not an avid reader of book blogs or anything book related actually and am very picky of the ones I choose to follow. This podcast doesn’t have anything to do with new releases, but its more so all the things that come with the territory of reading. I’m enjoying discovering new things and letting my eyes take a breather and instead use my ears to listen to interesting conversations. Podcast recommendations will be appreciated, please and thank you.

2. Social media detox – I have been browsing my apps much less lately, and although this is purely circumstantial, it is so refreshing. I never realised a) how much I tend to pick up my phone until I stopped and b) how awesome it can feel to be disconnected.

3. Skits – If I ever just want to laugh and take my mind off something, I watch a couple of Adam Saleh’s skits where he enacts his mother who doesn’t come on camera. I love a good Arab impersonation – and little children!

#books #table #decor4. My side table situation –  I’ve had a bunch of old + recent bookish purchases that have formed an organised chaos on my side table. I’m super glad to finally have all 3 Khaled Hosseini novels and can’t wait to cry over A Thousand Splendid Suns. I’ve not been able to read lately but looking at books just warms my heart in general. My brother got the Hunger Games trilogy (we’re late to the party just like all desis) and I’m unsure if I should read it? Is the plot genuinely engaging? I’ve never really understood the hype. I haven’t watched the movies either, but have gone through enough rave reviews and Jennifer Lawrence’s poker face expressions’ to not want anything to do with these books. But perhaps the time is now?

5. Mangoes – My sister is the happiest about mango season. I like how it usually coincides with Ramadan – our iftars are much sweeter. Ironically, I’m not a fan of the fruit, but I absolutely love a good mango milkshake.

Psst! Before your chai gets cold, I’d love it if you headed on over to the lovely F’s blog where I wrote a guest post with general guidelines on a hijabi’s summer wardrobe so you don’t die in the heat. You’re welcome. 😀

Have a happy weekend.

8 thoughts on “The Friday Post #6

    1. I’ll check them out. Omg I wanted to read the Architect’s Apprentice but only managed to get The Bastard of Istanbul – which I have not heard that very many great things about. You’re the first positive review! Haha, let’s see. I have high expectations from Elif Shafak because I loved The Forty Rules of Love.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Yay! Friday posts. I’ve never listened to a podcast. I usually like to read my internet. Haha. I don’t know why that is. I’m not a big YouTuber either. But this Podcast sure does sound interesting. You intrigued with “the territory of reading” – what do you mean by that?

    You have Tim Horton’s? No way! I was just thinking about Timmy’s today. But I think Michigan and perhaps other border states are the only ones in the U.S. that have them.

    I love everything to do with mangoes! 🙂 They’re my favorite fruit… they have the highest amount of sugar, I’ve been told. Probably why. Happy early Ramadan Moobarak. I’ve no done no prep whatsoever.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m unsure if I’ll be sticking to it because I’m also more of a reader than a listener and it’s a medium that takes some form of mental adjustment to get attached to, get what I mean? I was never a big Youtuber before either when everyone else was, and after you take the plunge you wonder why you didn’t before. There are all kinds of great things out there to discover. What I meant by “territory of reading” – was like, they answer listener-submitted questions which go something like “I consider myself well read and like xyz genres, but I haven’t ever read the classics, and get defensive about my literary tastes when people ask me about them. Should I be reading them and if so where do I start?” or “I have a book buying problem and cant stop myself from purchasing despite not having read a lot of the copies on my shelves” etc etc. I usually give something a listen for a minute or so and if it doesn’t agree with me I just let it go. Dubai got Tim Hortons back in 2012 🙂 Haha! Hi5. No prep here done either but that’s due to circumstances.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Just found your blog, and these Friday posts are completely adorable and very fun to read! I usually can’t focus when I listen to podcasts, which is why I tend to focus more when reading, because my eyes have nowhere else to go than the words on the page. But I do think it’s nice to give our eyes a break as well. The only podcast I’ve been listening to lately is a rather new one: “The Apartment with Asif and Baluch”. I believe they’ve got 3 of them out now but they’re doing them at a rapid pace so I’m already looking forward to the next. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They take a little bit of getting used to – as I said, it was circumstantial that I even started it! There is great content out there, honestly. I keep making excuses because I’m still not used to it but I should probably have some sort of a time out dedicated to not using my eyes to look at a screen (or a book!) for a bit. Thank you for the sweet words and the recommendation! ❤ I'll look into it x

      Like

Leave a Reply

