The FRIDAY Post #2

IMG_1656.JPGSibling Shenanigans
Sister’s extreme persistence. We’d like to think that we would have cancelled out any gain/loss by walking to and from this place. (Please don’t shatter our happy bubble). We don’t eat at BK, but as my sister rightly said, the only thing she’d ever go there for are the onion rings or fries.

 

 

 

IMG_1754.JPG
Pineapple Toffee Dessert

Sweet Serendipity
Thumbs up for my presentation skills? No? Ok. Psh. Clearly I found myself with a lot of spare time on my hands and I decided to make this recipe from one of my favourite bloggers, Shehzeen Rehman aka The Desi Wonder Woman. She is by no means a food blogger and our culinary skills may raise a fair few eyebrows, but that’s ok. (I have a feeling we’ll get along really well, you guys). This was a bit too sweet, and if that’s coming from someone who has inherited a major sweet tooth and who lives for Pakistani mithai, you know it really is. My sister suggested halving the ratio I took to make the toffee, so that that layer wouldn’t be as thick. The toffee tasted better warm in my opinion, and I want to do something with that but I don’t know what. Otherwise, this was really good & everyone loved it at home. I feel like all desi households have one easy-to-make, layering wali dessert recipe. My mom makes this trifle, which is also based on layers, but isn’t as sweet as this one.

IMG_1848.JPG


PAPRI!

I love this so much. Also, I no longer need to worry about arm exercising/strengthening. If anyone is finding a more interesting way to do that, please knead some dough. Recipe here.

Currently watching

  • Pakistani TV shows: Mann Mayal. The star cast and the need to know the ending (setting myself up for a disappointment, basically) is what’s keeping me going, otherwise it has massive plot holes.
  • Youtube: Amenakin and Dina Tokio.

Feel-Good Moment
I read something on Instagram that resonated with me on a personal level by @thelibrocubicularist (wow what a mouthful). Felt like the universe sent me reassurance just when I needed it. It was a long post but this was the end of it:

If you struggle with feelings of inadequacy, please don’t stop with whatever you’re doing. Don’t let others define what’s good enough. As long as it brings you joy, you owe it to yourself to keep going.

Let me know a random highlight from your week in the comments below! Have a great weekend, you’ll 🙂

7 thoughts on “The FRIDAY Post #2

  1. lol i love the desi wonder woman’s blog!
    and omg mann mayal! everyone is watching it! what do you think of it? the story line is killing me, i wish it wasnt so ridic! i just love maya and hamza though!
    and dina tokio, ❤ ❤ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There’s so much hype for it & I think that’s because of the star cast. I really want to like it but I just CANT take how its going from A to B without any logic. :((( Did you see the latest episode? She has children now (I was flabbergasted) and he’s still in love with her (no idea when that happened). I love Dina Tokio! Did you check out her husband’s new channel? He’s todha pagal honestly haha 😛

      Like

      1. Yeah its basically just the cast thats making it worth watching. YES OMG WTH! I’m still dumbfounded and dont understand if she and salahuddin will end up together or not! With kids in the picture, it makes it so much harder. And if they don’t end up together–what is the point of the drama?!
        Yes i love her! And i did, lol their nuts but i love it. I dont get why he made his own channel…but whatever. i love their sid and dina videos the most when they answer peoples qs about life! lol

        Like

      2. I know right! They can end up together but she’s so stubborn and all the attitude she’s showing to his sister is so faltu. & Who holds on to all of that for sooo long even after kids? This week waise a new character is going to enter the show so Im hoping the plot will take a turn for the better.. Haha yes I love their videoss! They talk too much but I still love it haha. Also, HANNAH. ❤

        Like

      3. Well i dont blame her for still being mad, i would be too if i were in her position. i still hate salahuddin not fighting for her years ago because they couldve happily been together, but obv the story wouldnt have continued like this. yeah a new GIRL for sallahudin. how stupid! idk…lets see what happens! Haha yeah their the cutest!<3 interracial mustlim marriage at its finest!

        Like

      4. Likewise but I wouldn’t treat his sister/her bff so badly, cuz what’s her fault? :p Whenever they release the OST, I try not to watch the video cuz it reveals the whole story, but I’m still unable to understand mann mayal, lol! Lez seeee

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Oh yeah that part is stupid and unfair, i guess she hass to show her anger somewhere. and lol yeah i have no clue what kind of twists await and how this will end, lets see! i cant believe its already been 13 epis/13 weeks, so long !

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

